Building Futures - 2024 AEF Scholarship Winners - headshots of smiling young Black and Latine students

The American Experience Foundation (AEF) is proud to announce the recipients of its 2024 AEF Scholarship Awards.

The scholarships support students in Washington, DC’s Academies of Hospitality & Tourism, Culinary Arts and Mass Media, as well as Academy alumni currently pursuing higher education. 

AEF Scholarships

Abide Kao*, Columbia Heights Educational Campus, 2024
Belinda Alcoser-Gonzalez Jackson-Reed High School, 2024
John Thompson, Ballou High School, 2024
Kaleb Bland Coolidge High School, 2024
Khalil Malloy Columbia Heights Educational Campus, 2024
Melany Mendez-Casas Coolidge High School, 2024
Trevon Bernado, River Terrace Education Campus, 2024

AEF Alumni Scholarships

Jean-Pierre Roberts*, Eastern Connecticut State University, 2026; Jackson-Reed, 2022
Mattison McDonald*, Washington & Jefferson College, 2027; Coolidge, 2023

To honor the memory of hospitality industry colleagues and students in Washington, DC, AEF awards the: 

David Iselin Memorial Scholarship for Community Service 

Adame Temesgen*
Arizona State University (Master's), 2026
University of Rochester (Bachelor's), 2024

Ray Bennett Memorial Scholarship for Leadership  

DeAnna Mozee
Roosevelt High School, 2024

Akira Wilson Memorial Scholarship for Entrepreneurship  

Evelyn Consolla
Jackson-Reed High School, 2024

Joe Shymanski Memorial Scholarship for Photography & Media 

Ty Monroe
Coolidge High School, 2024 

AEF also recognizes the following scholars for their achievements. 

AEF Alumni Honorariums 

Cenaria Fells-Watson*, Towson University
Charity Jones, Spelman College
Tenielle Parker*, North Carolina A&T State University

AEF Honorariums 

Aaron Perkins, Columbia Heights Educational Campus
Adorre Fells-Watson, Columbia Heights Educational Campus
Akilah Hunter, Columbia Heights Educational Campus
Antwon Gibson, River Terrace High School
Anya Blakney, Coolidge High School
Cailin Santos, River Terrace High School
Christian Jil Imus, Columbia Heights Educational Campus
Darren Heard, Ballou High School
Hassan Purnell, Ballou High School
Jocelyn Salazar, Columbia Heights Educational Campus
JohnTay Taylor, River Terrace High School
K'nasia McKenzie, Columbia Heights Educational Campus
Malcom Straker, River Terrace High School
Miram Bezabih, River Terrace High School
Nalisa Jacobs, Ballou High School
Saniya Lewis, Jackson-Reed High School
Saniyah Heyward, IDEA PCS High School
Treasure Brooks, Ballou High School
Zachary Songu-Mbriwa, Ballou High School

Joe Shymanski Memorial Scholarship for Photography - Honorariums

Kaden Johnson, Coolidge High School
Carmen Brito, Jackson-Reed High School

AEF invests in Washington, DC high school students through educational opportunities to cultivate the next generation of hospitality industry professionals. The AEF Scholarship Fund: 

  • Awards $2,500 scholarships and honorariums of various amounts to deserving students and alumni who have demonstrated success, leadership and service at school, at work and in their communities. 
  • Has provided over 90 scholarships since 2015, totaling over $175,000 in awards. 

You can invest in the next generation of hospitality and tourism leaders.  

Donate Today


*Has been awarded an AEF Scholarship in previous years

Connect with AEF:

AEF on LinkedIn AEF on Instagram AEF on TikTok